Javier Notario Fernandez-2016 European Tour M40-44 Champion

Javier Notario Fernandez is another Spaniard that had some very good results in 2016, giving him the needed points to win the European Tour in his Age Group. Living and training with his girlfriend Eva Garcia our 2nd place winner at the F35-39 European Tour, the Spanish couple for sure knows how to do it right!

We took some time to ask Javier some questions and learn more about him:

XE: What is your Name, Country and residence?

My name is Javier Notario Fernandez from Spain, Guadalajara

XE: What is your occupation?

I am an Osteopath

XE: What is your family Status?

I live with my girlfriend Eva García XTERRA European Tour 2nd place winner at the age group F35-39.

XE: What is your daily or week training plan?

I run 3 times a week, i ride 3 times and i swim 5 times a week

XE: What do you eat for breakfast before a big race?

Milk with cacao, toast, cereals and some fruit

XE: What type of diet do you follow?

I follow a Mediterranean diet that is typical in my country, although I also love italian food.

XE: How many years you have you been involved with triathlon? What is your athletic background-How did you started?

I have been practicing triathlon for two years, this is going to be my third year. I started mountain bike since 16 years old and was competing as a pro cyclist the last 10 years.

XE: Which of the three disciplines is your favorite?

Due to my background i prefer the mountain bike

XE: How many XTERRA did you raced in 2016 (Results)?

I was 2nd in Portugal, 3rd in Italy and 1st in Germany

XE: What is your favorite XTERRA?

I love XTERRA Italy

XE: How do you keep the balance between regular work, family & friends and training? How do you keep motivated?

I am very lucky as my girlfriend also competes in xterra, so we share our hobby, training and travelling together. I really like this sport, i love to train, run and ride my bike in the mountains. It is so nice to travel in such beautiful places around Europe and compete in races.

XE: What is your suggestion to someone that wants to change his life and start doing sports but has limited time?

For me sports are an important part of my life, it makes me feel good, it allows me to meet people and incredible places. So no matter the time you can spent, i would encourage you to go out and try to enjoy every second of your training.

XE: What are your XTERRA plans for 2017?

I will race at XTERRA España, Portugal, Italy and Germany.

XE: Thank you very much Javier and wish you all the best for the 2017 season.