Alexander Montel: 2016 European Tour M30-34 Champion

Alexander Montel was doing MotorCross since he was 5 years old. He got tired of hurting himself and visiting the local Hospital, so around 2013 he discovered XTERRA. He was 1st in his AG and 1st Amateur overall in Greece, 2nd in Belgium, DNF in Switzerland, 7th in France and 1st in Denmark.

“We wanted to force him out of Organicoach more than 20 times because he is “crazy”. But this guy is strong and entertaining so finaly we always keep him” said Nico Lebrun-XTERRA European Tour Director and headcoach at Organicoach. “He is very strong on the bike, he improved a lot his swimming the last two years, but still has some problems during the run. He is getting better and better! I remember last year in Denmark, in the first loop of the bike he was already top 20 and still pushing hard. So i yell at him that he was pushing too hard. He almost stop just to say No! With his strong Motorcross background, he was just having fun in the perfect muddy conditions”


XE: What is your Name, Country and residence?
Alexandre Montel, Digne les Bains in France (as Nicolas Lebrun alias Skippy).

XE: What is your occupation?
Responsible for economic development at the Chamber of Crafts and trouble maker in Organicoach on the week-end.

XE: Family Status?
You can join me on +336…………..

XE: What is your daily or week training plan?
Two trainings by day on working days (at midday and after 6:00 pm) and three trainings when I don’t work.

XE: What do you eat for breakfast before a big race?
Eggs, avocado and banana. Nico Lebrun doesn’t allow me to eat some candys, i really don’t understand why.

XE: What type of diet do you follow?
I try to eat some fruits and vegetables and I eat the least possible meat. I stopped drinking cow’s milk and soda.

XE: How many years have you been involved with triathlon?
Since 2013.

XE:What is your athletic background-How did you started?
I did motocross since i was 5. I got tired of hurting myself and going to the hospital, so i decided to start another nature sport.

XE: Which of the three disciplines is your favorite?
Mountain bike! I can’t swim and i run with difficulty.

XE: How many XTERRA did you raced in 2016, (results)?
- Greece (1st in 30-34, 1st amateur, 17th overall)
- Belgium (2nd in 30-34, 21th overall)
- Switzerland (DNF, hypothermia)
- France (7th 30-34, 64th overall)
- Denmark (1st 30-34, 2nd amateur, 17th overall)

XE: What is your favorite XTERRA?
Maui is magic but hard for my legs. Greece is the most playful.

XE: How do you keep the balance between regular work, family & friends and training? How do you keep motivated? I try to train when my family is working. When we go somewhere on the weekend, I go on my bike. Most of the weekends we all go to my races. I want to thank my family for their understanding and for being proud of me.

XE: What is your suggestion to someone that wants to change his life and start doing sports but has limited time?
Put your TV in the trash! If you sleep 7 hours, you work 8 hours, you eat 2 hours (yes i love to eat), you spent 2 hours with your children and your wife or husband, you are 1 hour in your car, you have 4 hours left for training. You need to be organized and you will see that any kind of sport is the best antidepressant, the best drug…

XE: What are your XTERRA plans for 2017?  
- Greece
- Spain
- Belgium
- France
- Italy
- Denmark

XE: Thank you very much Alexander and wish you all the best for the 2017 season