Ben Allen

Germany to Host XTERRA European Champs

XTERRA Germany will host the 2016 XTERRA European Championship race on August 20 in Zittau. The event will offer $25,000 USD in elite prize money and 50 qualifying spots into the XTERRA World Championship for amateurs.

“We are very pleased to announce Germany as the European Championship race for 2016,” said XTERRA managing director Dave Nicholas. “Benno Schwager and his team have operated fabulous events for XTERRA since 2010 as well as the ITU Cross Triathlon race in 2014.  The area around Zittau and the park at Olbersdorf are perfect places to host this race.  The area has dozens of great hotels and guest houses that are comfortable and affordable.  The beach and lake are clean and pristine, the bike course, while not overly technical, is a true challenge with lots of climbing and fast descents.  The run is a leg burner where you simply must go fast the entire way around.  Perhaps as good as anything is a lot of tasty, cold and free beer at the awards and after party.”

2016 will mark the 16th year of racing for the O-SEE Challenge in Zittau.

“Everybody here is proud and excited that O-SEE Challenge got nominated to host the XTERRA European Championship in 2016,” said Zittau Mayor Thomas Zenker. “The international elites and age groupers will find excellent conditions, very friendly hosts, and a region giving full support. We can expect a great race because the regional organization and the XTERRA team are longtime partners with big experience, energy and creativity.”

Dr. Klaus “Benno“ Schwager, the event director for XTERRA Germany and the O-SEE Challenge, says he’s excited to see the best-of-the-best amateurs and elites race in Zittau for the European Championship.

“We are delighted to be the heart of XTERRA in Europe next year,” said Schwager. “The XTERRA European Championship is a good chance to create some changes in the bike and run course so we’ll go to work – and the racers can be surprised. And, of course, we are looking forward to the legendary party after the race. Live More!”

The XTERRA Germany Championship sold-out last year, and those interested in competing are encouraged to register early at

This will be the eighth time XTERRA has hosted a European Championship race.                                                           The first one was held in 2006 in Italy, and last year’s race was won by Ruben Ruzafa and Lesley Paterson in England.

All-time XTERRA European Championship Race Elite Winners

Year, Location – M/W Elite Champs

2015, England - Ruben Ruzafa/Lesley Paterson
2011, Germany - Olivier Marceau/Marion Lorblanchet
2010, Italy - Franky Batelier/Melanie McQuaid
2009, Austria - Franky Batelier/Renata Bucher
2008, Italy - Olivier Marceau/Sibylle Matter
2007, Italy - Olivier Marceau/Eszter Erdelyi
2006, Italy - Nicolas Lebrun/Renata Bucher