Delphine Guillot- 2017 XTERRA European F30-34 Champion

The young nutritionist from France, raced 4 XTERRA in 2017. She was second in 2 races and had another 2 top 10 finishes in the strong competitions of Switzerland and France.

Lets meet Delphine Guillot our 2017 XTERRA European F30-34 Champion!

XE: What is your Name, Age, Country and place of Stay?

I’m Delphine Guillot, 31 years old, I come from Villard-de-Lans in the Alps but I’m now living in Fontainebleau, France.

XE: What is your occupation, family Status?

I work as a dietician-nutritionist with a sport nutrition specialization. I’m in a medical structure, but I’m also involved with high level athletes and athletes from the army, since I have a part-time job in the army medical center.

In my free time, I am volunteer as a firewoman in Fontainebleau, and I spend at least one summer month on beaches being a sea lifeguard, so that I keep a free water swimming training!

I live with my boyfriend in a tiny house, we just have to cross the street to get on trails in the forest!

XE: How many years you are involved with triathlon? What is your athletic background-How all started?

I’ve been practicing triathlon for 4 or 5 years now, and if I remember well, Xterra France was my first race… it has been a…special experience 🙂

Before triathlon I’ve always been attracted with sport competition, my big sport was horse riding eventing, which is a bit different but not that far from Xterra adrenalin!

XE: Which of the three disciplines is your favorite?

I love all 3 of them, swimming remembers me the beaches, biking remembers me my horse riding, and I love running! What I really love with Xterra is the adventure and the challenge!!

XE: How many XTERRA did you raced in 2017, (results)

I ran 4 Xterra : Malta (2nd), Spain (2nd), Switzerland (9th) and France (9th).

XE: What was the best/worst moment of 2017?

Best moment: no hesitation, crossing the finish line of Xterra France!

Worst moment: the huge pain I always have in my back because of my bike, which is probably the cheapest among all bikes I see around in the transition area… but I love my bike!

XE: Where will be the best XTERRA place for you?

Corsicaaaaaa!!! You have everything there, awesome beaches, with f***** hard trails hard in the mountain!! Every lifeguard summer I spend there makes me think about a Xterra Corsica!

XE: How do you keep the balance between regular work, family & friends and training? How do you keep motivated?

First, no child yet… it helps! Then, my boyfriend probably trains as much as I do, and we actually share the same trainings in the same association! We run adventure races as a team, that’s cool, I am my own boss, I can adapt my schedule, and I work with athletes, it keeps me motivated!

XE: What is your suggestion to someone that wants to change his life and start doing sports but has limited time?

Don’t sit on the couch after work, just go outside, and the most important, go run in awesome places, on beautiful trails, and keep pleasure! Pleasure is the key!! (and good meal is also the second key…!)

XE: Where was your favorite race in the Euro Tour 2017?

Malta, so beautiful!!

XE: Did you raced Maui in 2017?

Is this really a question? Of course! I had to eat only potatoes (don’t tell my patients) to save money for Hawaii. 🙂

XE: What are your plans for 2018?

Do better than 2017, go visit and race the Xterra events I’ve not been yet, and keep having fun and pleasure!!